Marcia, Marcia, Marcia

My Marcia Brady moment

(Originally posted 8 July 2007)

Like many women my age, as a young girl I idolized Maureen McCormick (Marcia Brady). Slim, long blonde hair, pretty, level-headed yet cool and attractive to guys. I wanted nothing more than to be her. Of course, while Marcia remains perennially pretty and perky on Brady Bunch reruns, real life goes on.

Flash forward to summer 2007, and I’m at the hair salon, indulging in the guilty pleasure of reading fluff magazines. There, on the cover of a magazine I would never in my life buy, is Maureen McCormick, having just lost 34 pounds on the Celebrity Fit Club TV show. Good for ol’ Marcia, think I, and proceed to read the article. Sure enough, there’s the embarrassing “before” pic of Maureen, looking like a sweatsuit-clad dumpling. The article includes her “before” height and weight as well. WHAT??? Gulp. I am the same height as she, and . . . I weigh exactly the same amount as she did . . . “before.”

Let me repeat. Exactly the same weight as the fat woman in the “before” pics.

Reality check: Do I look that bad?

Denial response: Nope. Nuh-uh, no way, not me.

Unfortunately, the merciless mirrors at my health club and a few recent photos tell a different story. I had to face the truth and admit that I am actually no longer the skinny girl I used to be. Fat. Such a blunt word, isn’t it? And yet, accurate.

So, beginning tomorrow, I will be arising bright and early each day to join the other women at Napa Adventure Boot Camp. Yep, at 5:30am every day for the next four weeks, I’ll be running, doing calisthenics, weightlifting, hiking, Pilates, and more.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress (assuming there is any). Will I also be posting before & after pictures of myself? Doubtful, but then, you never know.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

