2013: Out With the Old

A quick wrap-up of 2013, starting with What I Made.

Though it felt like I was always at the sewing machine, I don’t have much to show for it, possibly because a lot of what I made were gifts for others that I forgot to photograph before I gave them away!

I do have photos of a few, including several quilting projects, large and small, including:

Valentine’s Day pillows for Savannah & Tessa:

cross my heart pillow

cross my heart pillow

coastal cruiser

coastal cruiser

first quilt

Howard’s “Useful” quilt, pieced and quilted by Mandy. Completed March, 2013.

ImageCome What May (a Jaybird Quilts pattern) for Savvy. Completed April, 2013.

ImageBeachy Trip Around the World for Tessa. Completed October, 2013. (Part of the #scrappytripalong on Instagram)

ImageStar Surround quilt top. Completed December, 2013. (From the Star Surround QAL at Happy Quilting).

I also got into my first swap, the URHere swap. The swap focused on Starbucks You Are Here mugs, and and we were to include something extra. I sent off a San Francisco mug and this mug rug to South Carolina.

mini-maples mug rug, completed October, 2013

mini-maples mug rug, October, 2013

More stitchy goodness …

… an Idea Pouch (Michelle Pattern) for my bff:

holds ipad, phone, pens & more

idea_pouch_inside holds ipad, phone, pens & more

Sew in Style threadcatcher for mom

thread catcher for mom

(Sew in Style Thread Catcher Pattern from Curry Bungalow)

barbecue apron for dad

barbecue apron for dad

musical tie for my bass teacher

musical necktie for my bass teacher

rock 'n' roll mail sack for my music gear

rock ‘n’ roll mail sack for my music gear

Many, many wine gift bags …

tutorial to come!

tutorial to come!

… Necessities On-the-Go Pouches (tutorial here):

on_the_go_pouch_red

these hold phone, cards & cash

… and Gift Card Cases (tutorial here):

gift_card_cases

perfect for gift cards or business cards

I started Pile O’ Fabric’s Skill Builder BOM, made the first four blocks and quilted two of them, then never got back to it. Maybe I will? I joined Don’t Call Me Betsy’s Lucky Stars BOM, bought the fabric, and that’s as far as I got with that. I do love the fabrics I chose, though, so I’ll definitely be making a quilt with them at some point in time.

I went to my first sewing retreat, the inaugural Sew On Northern California Retreat, in September, along with my friend Carolina. We had a fabulous time and met so many fun, talented women! I’m looking forward to Sew On NorCal 2014!

sor-logo-200

What else did I do in 2013?

I enrolled myself in a two-month boot camp program at the beginning of the year, and did the Whole 30 Challenge in August/September (yep, 30 days without wine, people), which was one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself. I’m actually looking forward to going back on the plan this month, since eating a diet of clean, whole foods made me feel better than I ever have.

finishedwhole30

I played bass, performing just four times with my band Valley Fever/45 RPM (but two nights at Silo’s nightclub, so that makes me cool, right?); got a gorgeous new bass guitar; sang soprano in the Napa Valley Community Chorus; fitted 65 chorus members for both casual and formal outfits (just call me the Wardrobe Mistress. No, I insist); had our annual New Year’s Day Open House (for the neighbors) Cinco de Mayo party (for everyone and their mother); and attended all five days of the BottleRock music festival here in Napa.

45 RPM

I went to Eureka in February (to visit Howard); Tucson in April (to visit Savvy & my parents); Oceanside in May (niece’s H.S. graduation); Santa Barbara x 3 (twice to move Tessa and once to see her sorority Presents); to Oklahoma (for my cousin’s wedding) and Texas (just for fun) in October;  and Orlando with the family (Disney! Harry Potter!) for Christmas.

we've got our ears on

we’ve got our ears on

Now, on to 2014!

See you there,

mandy

Leave a Reply

