Hello, 2014!

My blog titles are so imaginative.

I’m raring to go on sewing projects for 2014! Unfortunately, 2013 ended with my trusty Bernina crapping out (completely scuttling my plans for last-minute handmade Christmas gifts), so she’s at the shop for servicing.

She has her work cut out for her when she gets home. This is what we’ll be sewing:

I was thrilled to get into Danny’s Stash Bee 2014. It’s my first time in a virtual quilting bee, and I’m so excited to get started! I was assigned the month of November in Hive #2, so I have a long way to go until it’s my turn to be queen.

StashBee

In the meantime, most of our group have introduced themselves, and I’ve had a chance to look at their blogs, Instagram and Flickr accounts to see what they’re up to.

Our first block comes from hive mama and Miss January, Heather. We’ll each be doing a Random Bamboo block for her, with a solid background and scrappy bamboo stalks.

these look like they'll be fun to make

these look like they’ll be fun to make – photo by heather karr

One of the best things about this Bee is that all the fabrics used are to be from the quilter’s stash. Perfect for me, since I need no excuses for buying any more fabric. Not that that will stop me from getting a teeny bit more from time to time.

I also got into another swap, the Sweet Pouch Swap, hosted by Ros at Sew Delicious.

sweet+pouch+swap+main+picture

In this swap, you’re assigned to a partner, and each makes a zipper pouch of any design for the other. What makes it sweet is the candy that you put into the pouch for your partner to enjoy! Ros has assigned us international partners, so that we can enclose candies from our own country, and get to sample treats from another country.

better than a pen pal - a pouch pal!

better than a pen pal – a pouch pal!

My partner, Grace, is in New Zealand, and we seem to like a lot of the same things. She asked for a pouch to carry her small needlework projects in, and I have a pretty good idea of what pouch I want to make for her. I’m looking forward to getting started (and to getting some kiwi candy).

My Star Surround quilt top is finished; when it gets back from the longarmer I’ll just need to bind it, then send it to its intended recipient (a secret for now).

to be continued

to be continued

I’ll be putting away these scrappy trees from Christa’s Modern Tree QAL until early next fall. They are destined to be made into a wall hanging that’ll substitute for a Christmas tree when we travel.

on hold till fall

on hold till fall

I am, however, leaving my three Modern Maples blocks out. I think these will be fun to do when I have some down time (ha).

this quilt will be for me!

this quilt will be for me!

I’m waiting on the background fabric to arrive so I can get started on the Feathers Quilt Along, using the Feathers quilt pattern by Alison Glass and Nydia Kehnle.

feathersQALlogo

I was planning to use this layer cake of Barcelona, but Nydia advised that I get a few FQs for the blocks that are longer than 10″. Hmm.

decisions, decisions

decisions, decisions

It’s a striking looking quilt, said to be a good intro to paper piecing, and there’s still time to get started if you want to join! Details HERE.

feathers_quilt_patt

I also have two baby quilts to make, one for a neighbor’s grandson, and one for my friend Carolina’s due-any-day-now niece (my first commission), and I really want to make an Aeroplane Bag for myself.

That’s probably ambitious enough for now, right? Now hurry home, Bernina!

mandy

4 thoughts on “Hello, 2014!

    • Hi there!
      This is only my second swap, but I found both on Instagram. I follow a lot of quilters/sewists, as well as fabric stores, companies, etc. Even if you don’t follow the swap host/moderator, a lot of times their friends repost the swap announcement on IG so you can find it that way. I believe there are some swap groups on Flickr as well that you can join so you’d be ready when the next round is announced.
      Hope that helps 🙂

  1. Same question about the swaps 🙂 You look like you’ll be busy when you get your machine back. I had mine serviced in December, too, and I’ve been working it like crazy since I got it back. Can’t wait to see your finished projects.

Leave a Reply

